When a character takes an action, whether one defined in the rules or not, they must use a proficiency. A character's proficiency level in that proficiency determines the base number of dice rolled to determine the result of the action.

Most actions will also use a specialization. Each level in a proficiency grants a number of specializations. A character is treated as having a +2 bonus to their proficiency level when taking actions they have the specialization for, granting +2d6 bonus dice in addition to the base proficiency dice.

Level Name Base Roll Specializations
1 Untrained 2d6 0
2 Novice 2d6 1
3 Professional 3d6 2
4 Master 4d6 3